“My Personal” Caponata

The summer is almost over and i’m happy …. here in Tuscany, and in all Italy, the weather has been really really hot and staying in a kitchen could be very unpleasant ! Now the air is fresher, and I’m glad to be back in front of my pans. Yesterday I ran to the market and I bought some big eggplant and some “San Marzano” tomatoes to prepare a dish that I love! Here my personal way to cook Caponata, a typical italian dish from Sicily. My recipe is much easier and lighter than the original, but very tasty!

“My Personal” Caponata

2 big eggplants
4 “San Marzano” tomatoes, cutted in small pieces
A red onion (cipolla di Tropea), sliced
A garlic, finely chopped
Some leaves of basil, chopped
Rocky salt
Extravergine olive oil

Peeled the eggplants and cut them in small cubes. Saute’ the garlic and onion in olive oil in a pan. Add the eggplant cubes and stir, let them cook for 15 minutes. Add cutted tomatoes, rocky salt and stir. Add the basil  and mix all together 30 minutes more. My personal caponata is ready! It is good served hot or cold … and the day  after is better !  A little tip : if you eat it cold, drop some balsamic vinegar on it … Taste really good!!!

Buon appetito!

2 thoughts on ““My Personal” Caponata

Leave a Reply

